Latest News

From the Assistant Principal – International and Community Partnerships

05 December 2023

Alumni Reunion – Friday 17 November

The 2023 Alumni Reunion event was a wonderful evening where we welcomed back the Graduating Classes of 2022, 2013 and 2003 on a warm Friday evening. It was wonderful to see how impressed our alumni were, in particular the 2003 Graduating Class who were the first year level to commence on the current 35 Thomas Carr Drive site. On the tour of the campus, these students went through the College’s state of the art teaching spaces and looked at the architectural designs and new Senior building that is currently under construction.  

Thank you to all who attended including current and former staff, student leaders and the founding Principal, Paul D’Astoli and his wife Mary. 

As a College we are committed to creating stronger connections with our growing alumni and encourage all alumni to stay connected by registering their details via our website 

A Day to Shine – Tuesday 21 November

Our Patron, Archbishop Thomas Carr, believed in the importance of Catholic education to support students to achieve their goals. His motto, ‘They will Shine” rings true each day at our College and we are proud of our students as they continue to shine their light into the world. 

On Tuesday 21 November 2023, the College gathered for the annual celebration of student achievement, recognising excellence across a range of areas including Academic, Service, Leadership, Sport, Music, the Arts, Faith and Mission.  

We welcomed a range of special guests including the Honourable Joanne Ryan – the Federal Member for Lalor who also delivered the guest speech, parents of award winners, Father Jude Pirotta and Members of the College Advisory Council.  

As a community, we celebrated all students’ efforts throughout 2023 and the achievements of 130 plus students who were individually recognised on the day.  

We are grateful to a range of sponsors and supporters of various special awards and for attending to present these awards at A Day to Shine.  

Congratulations to Oliver Pond for his efforts throughout his time at Thomas Carr College and he was a very deserving recipient of the Thomas Carr Prize.  

The service concluded with the Commissiong of the Year 12 Group of 2024 with Father Jude Pirotta providing a year group blessing, as they and all student embarked on their Headstart into the 2024 Academic year program. 

Award  Sponsor  Recipient  
Thomas Carr Prize Perpetual Parents and Friends  Oliver Pond 
The Julia Gillard Award  Hon Joanne Ryan MP Tamyra Riturban 
The Lalor Hero Award  Hone Joanne Ryan MP Asheriya Charan  
The Joseph De Piro Spiritual Life Award  The Mission Society of St Paul  Oliver Pond 
The Bruce Runnalls Spirit of Thomas Carr Award  Thomas Carr College Charlie Hickey 
The Mary MacKillop Female Leadership Award  Thomas Carr College Janaiah Mider  
People’s Choice Art Award Thomas Carr College Eryne Magcalas 
Year 10 Pursuit of Excellence  The Knights of the Southern Cross  Rohil Prasad Deborah Htoosaw 
Year 11 Pursuit of Excellence  The Knights of the Southern Cross Nadja Probst Pavani Salat 
Year 12 Pursuit of Excellence  The Knights of the Southern Cross Raul Sapkota  
Ampol All Rounder  Ampol Keira Eckley 
The ADF Force Long Tan Youth Leadership and Teamwork Award  The Australian Defence Force Josh Alfon Omar Hamzah Saiyed 
The ADF Force Future Innovators Award  The Australian Defence Force Carmelice Jade Evonne Sajul Tyler Currie-Mayne 
CDF Resilience Award  Catholic Development Fund  Daniel Bozovic 
The Rutherford Medal for Excellence in Chemistry  Mr Brian Campbell Lachlan Di Battista 
College Service Awards  Midford School Uniforms Amy Louise Elsby Nathan Rodrigues Kiara Amparado Mehar Chatrath Reiza Bajador Preet Joshi Deborah Htoosaw Jason Cham Nadja Probst Jaxon Deneys 



College Captain Charlie Hickey 
College Captain Raul Sapkota 
College Vice Captain Divina Abiog 
College Vice Captain Oliver Pond 


Music Engagement Award – Year 7 Joan Ouma 
Music Engagement Award – Year 8 Jye Mider 
Music Engagement Award – Year 9 Abby Fernando 
Music Engagement Award – Year 10 Josh Alfon 
Music Engagement Award – Year 11 Jaxon Deneys 


Art Engagement Award – Year 7 Stephanie Dimitriadis 
Art Engagement Award – Year 8 Marhia Bautista 
Art Engagement Award – Year 9 Ibaadat Kamboj 
Art Engagement Award – Year 10 Sarah Wos 
Art Engagement Award – Year 11 Saw Justin George 


Sport Engagement Award – Year 7 Maddison Hall 
Sport Engagement Award – Year 8 Puneet Kaur Samra 
Sport Engagement Award – Year 9 Steven Morgan 
Sport Engagement Award – Year 10 Joseph Lettieri 
Sport Engagement Award – Year 11 Rayan Latu 

Tom Bridges
Assistant Principal – International and Community Partnerships